Meet the Press

by Eric Pudalov, Community Events Coordinator

Since my recent adventures in networking online, I’ve begun to brainstorm about what other social networks and/or strategies might be beneficial to our cause.

Arment Dietrich, a marketing firm, states that they “…provide strategic counsel and apply aggressive public relations tactics to expand your internal communication team.” In earlier entries, I’ve quoted their CEO, Gini Dietrich, whom I’ve quickly realized is a valuable ally to have in the marketing world.

Today, Gini featured a guest blogger on The Fight Against Destructive Spin, namely Courtney Dial, the editor of inspirational site Pizzazzerie. Her entry, Why Is Generation Y Not Into Twitter?, provided an intriguing perspective into why people under 35, according to Pingdom.com, tend to shy away from Twitter.

As a Twitter user myself, and especially one who applies it to my job, I’ve learned to see the value in it, even though I use Facebook, MySpace, and other social networks as well. I hope you find Courtney Dial’s blog entry helpful as well.

To read more about Gini Dietrich and her company, click here: Updates from Gini Dietrich, CEO.

While what works for a multinational corporation might not work for a nonprofit like us, I still think that the lines do cross somewhere.

Also today, in between working on our events calendar and the Excitement Committee display, I happened upon an article entitled Get Traffic to My Website—Tips to Increase Website Traffic, by Timothy Spruill, a marketing and advertising professional with 10+ years of experience.

Since I’ve been working on designing and making use of Google Ads in order to help market ourselves, I found this article extremely helpful in narrowing down many of the possibilities when it came to creating and targeting our advertising.

So once again, as in any field, it helps to read up on what others are doing to promote their work. This may seem like common sense, but the more bloggers and marketing experts I get in touch with, the more I learn, and the more I can help our organization.

Thanks Timothy, Gini, and Courtney! Your advice is much appreciated.

About gcsscommunity

My name is Eric Pudalov, and I work as Community Events Coordinator with Georgia Community Support and Solutions, whose mission is to provide creative, life-enriching solutions to people with developmental disabilities and their families. I became interested in this field, however, due to having a disability myself; namely, I had brain surgery in 1996 at age 14, to remove a benign tumor. Following this, I had many difficulties with short-term memory, loss of strength, confusion, and emotional control. Fortunately, at present, I've recovered much of what I'd lost. Despite some setbacks, I graduated high school with honors, and received an academic scholarship to Adelphi Univ., where I earned a BA in Communications. Since then, I've held a number of different jobs and internships, among them a TA position at Sylvan Learning Center, and work as a "Service Leader" with Hands on Atlanta. Since living in GA, I've also been involved with two programs (including GCSS) that serve people with disabilities. My experience has included sharing apartments with adults with autism and other disorders. Though my so-called "limitations" may differ from those of others in the program, these experiences have helped me to realize that people, overall, are capable of much more than we may at first perceive. Search Engine Submission - AddMe
This entry was posted in Blogging, Business, Events, Hot Blogs, Networking, Nonprofit, Professionalism, Technology, Websites and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Meet the Press

  1. Hi, Eric. As the community manager of Spin Sucks, I just wanted to drop in and say hello. I’m so happy that you’ve found the content on our blog useful as you explore new strategies to build your own online community around GCSS.

    We will be relaunching our site soon and will be adding more content, guest bloggers, videos, Q&A sessions with industry experts and more. Please feel free to “stop by” anytime and say hello, leave a comment or just enjoy what we have to offer.

    We look forward to hearing more from you, and we wish the best of luck to you and GCSS!

  2. Eric, first THANK YOU for the kind words! I don’t know if you really want me as an ally, but I’ll take it! :)

    Secondly, I do think there are some lessons non-profit organizations can take from big companies. We sit down with our non-profit clients, twice a year, and write down a list of companies we admire, no matter their industry. Then we write down what attributes we like about them. Then we discuss some of their cool campaigns. Then we copy, steal, and plagiarize for the next six months.

  3. Really good points, nice article that i enjoyed reading. Look forward to your next post.

Leave a Reply

