The Poetry of Work is…Image, Image, Image!

by Eric Pudalov, Community Events Coordinator

Once again, I’ve borrowed my title from an important person in my life, namely a college screenwriting professor. He used to tell us continually that “The poetry of film is…image, image, image!” This has stayed with me ever since; now I’ve begun to realize that it crosses over easily into the work world (film or otherwise).

My fiancée recently sent me a link from Yahoo! HotJobs entitled What Your Workspace Says About You, and I thought it worth sharing here.

This article, you might say, applies to any sort of business, whether a for-profit, nonprofit, or even a home business. It makes a number of excellent points about what conclusions people might draw from the image of your workspace. For example, “You’d rather be fishing (or skiing, or skydiving, or building birdhouses). Evidence: Pictures and artifacts from your hobby on every surface.”

The article goes on to say that while personalizing your cubicle, office, etc. can be a positive thing, if you go too far in that direction, it can imply that you’re an “all play and no work” type of person.

On the contrary, if your workspace is sloppy or completely undecorated, it gives the impression that you don’t necessarily care about the work you do, or that you’re uncomfortable in your job. So really, any extremes in a workspace aren’t necessarily going to be positives.

I once visited the office of CosmoCom, Inc., whose “mission is to optimize communication between organizations and their customers”; I was extremely impressed by the layout and atmosphere of the building, as well as its individual work spaces. Not only were the various cubicles and offices highly personalized, but the overall atmosphere was very artistic, comforting, and modernized.

Among the aspects of the office that added to the ambiance were gorgeous reproductions of world-famous artworks that dotted the building; displays educating visitors about technological innovations correlating to the art pieces; and a soothing cafeteria environment for the lunchroom. Granted, many of these innovations required quite a bit of money and time, but I believe any company can take some cues from the overall idea.

On an individual level, I aspire to create an atmosphere like that in my own workspace, whether at GCSS or in future places of employment. Although I have a tendency to be disorganized, I’m working on strategies to improve that. As far as the “atmosphere” aspect goes, I’m somewhere in the middle. My cubicle features information about many of the GCSS programs, as well as some of the past events we’ve hosted. However, I believe I could personalize it a bit more.

In any case, thank you to all those who’ve inspired me; I hope to do the same for others in my current and future workspaces.

About gcsscommunity

My name is Eric Pudalov, and I work as Community Events Coordinator with Georgia Community Support and Solutions, whose mission is to provide creative, life-enriching solutions to people with developmental disabilities and their families. I became interested in this field, however, due to having a disability myself; namely, I had brain surgery in 1996 at age 14, to remove a benign tumor. Following this, I had many difficulties with short-term memory, loss of strength, confusion, and emotional control. Fortunately, at present, I've recovered much of what I'd lost. Despite some setbacks, I graduated high school with honors, and received an academic scholarship to Adelphi Univ., where I earned a BA in Communications. Since then, I've held a number of different jobs and internships, among them a TA position at Sylvan Learning Center, and work as a "Service Leader" with Hands on Atlanta. Since living in GA, I've also been involved with two programs (including GCSS) that serve people with disabilities. My experience has included sharing apartments with adults with autism and other disorders. Though my so-called "limitations" may differ from those of others in the program, these experiences have helped me to realize that people, overall, are capable of much more than we may at first perceive. Search Engine Submission - AddMe
This entry was posted in Advertising, Appearances, Arts, Blogging, Business, Facebook, Hot Blogs, Networking, Nonprofit, Professionalism and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

