How Criminal Minds Relates to Disability Support…

by Eric Pudalov, Community Events Coordinator

Criminal Minds Cast

As I was pondering various professional blogs this morning, wondering what to write myself, the show Criminal Minds, on CBS, somehow came to mind, no pun intended.

Art Imitating Life

In each episode of , a group of FBI profilers known as the Behavioral Analysis Unit (BAU) use Behavior Sciences to lend assistance to criminal investigations, usually involving serial killers or even terrorist organizations.

The BAU consists of nine main team members, each of whom has a different specialty in the area of criminal profiling.

Now what does this have to do with GCSS or helping people with developmental disabilities? Let me explain. Obviously, our organization isn’t trying to catch criminals or rescue crime victims. However, just as the FBI profiles people that they’re trying to capture, so too can we profile people that we’re trying to help. Each of our programs, and the people who work in those departments, have different areas of expertise upon which we focus our efforts.

I have written about this in previous blogs, and as I gain more of an understanding of the process, I like to expand on it. I have heard, on more than one occasion, that some of my co-workers have difficulty summing up in a few words what we do at GCSS.

Usually, I say something along the lines of, “We’re a nonprofit organization dedicated to supporting people with disabilities and the elderly,” and I may sum up a few of the programs we have.

What’s My Role?

Over the course of my first year working at GCSS, my role has changed, as has the program itself. While I refer to myself as “Community Events Coordinator,” I had initially begun working on last year’s Golden Goals Awards, which I’m continuing to do this year.

Later on, I expanded my position into more of a marketing type role, using the blog, Twitter, Facebook, Delicious, and other social networking tools to get our message out.

Using the BAU as an exceptional model of teamwork, I believe I can more strongly integrate my role into GCSS and help extend our Web presence, as well as the number of people we serve.

I would also like to acknowledge, once again, Gini Dietrich of The Fight Against Destructive Spin, for helping to inspire this blog and being a long-distance teacher in the field of marketing and social media; and I’ve recently become a fan of StreamingCreative, written by Jason Verhoosky, another social media expert who focuses on nonprofits and small businesses.

Without input from my teachers, I would have a lot less to say.

About gcsscommunity

My name is Eric Pudalov, and I work as Community Events Coordinator with Georgia Community Support and Solutions, whose mission is to provide creative, life-enriching solutions to people with developmental disabilities and their families. I became interested in this field, however, due to having a disability myself; namely, I had brain surgery in 1996 at age 14, to remove a benign tumor. Following this, I had many difficulties with short-term memory, loss of strength, confusion, and emotional control. Fortunately, at present, I've recovered much of what I'd lost. Despite some setbacks, I graduated high school with honors, and received an academic scholarship to Adelphi Univ., where I earned a BA in Communications. Since then, I've held a number of different jobs and internships, among them a TA position at Sylvan Learning Center, and work as a "Service Leader" with Hands on Atlanta. Since living in GA, I've also been involved with two programs (including GCSS) that serve people with disabilities. My experience has included sharing apartments with adults with autism and other disorders. Though my so-called "limitations" may differ from those of others in the program, these experiences have helped me to realize that people, overall, are capable of much more than we may at first perceive. Search Engine Submission - AddMe
This entry was posted in Advertising, Appearances, Blogging, Business, FADS, Hot Blogs, Networking, Nonprofit, Professionalism, Technology, Television and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How Criminal Minds Relates to Disability Support…

  1. mode20100 says:

    A+ would read again

Leave a Reply

