How Jazz & Poetry Can Enhance Your Nonprofit

Khalil Gibran

Image via Wikipedia

by Eric Pudalov, Community Events Coordinator

When love beckons to you, follow him,
Though his ways are hard and steep.
And when his wings enfold you yield to him,
Though the sword hidden among his pinions may wound you.
And when he speaks to you believe in him,
Though his voice may shatter your dreams
as the north wind lays waste the garden. – Kahlil Gibran, “The Prophet

Do these lines speak to you in any way?  I hope that they do; you may wonder, “What do these have to do with GCSS?”  Well, in my mind, they have everything to do with our mission.

I feel that Georgia Community Support and Solutions’ ideals, ultimately, are based in love.  Though sometimes love presents challenges, and forces us to drop our barriers, it also leads to life’s greatest joys and purest peace.

Kahlil Gibran was my chosen “opening speaker” today, because I felt that his poems in The Prophet speak of simple truths that we all come to realize, in one way or another.

You may not think of yourself as a poet, or a reader of poetry; if you are a business owner, however, or one of the “pinions” that keeps a business running, this poem may partly symbolize an ideal way to reach success at your particular position, no matter what that may be.

Often, I’ve had people ask me, when it comes to careers, “Don’t you want to be a writer?”  I usually respond with, “I am a writer, but it might not be in the way that people expect.”  At times, I’ve used my poetry in seemingly unrelated jobs, as a way of conveying messages to co-workers and/or customers in the abstract.

Jazz, similarly (or whatever music you may choose) can have a similar effect on your business.  Whether it’s the music you use individually to help stimulate productivity, or something that accompanies a presentation, it’s a mood-setter that can enhance the overall picture.

An ideal setting, for me, would be sitting in my cubicle, drifting away to some Thelonius Monk or Miles Davis…which in turn would inspire higher-quality work on my part.

The reason I choose jazz, simply, is that it’s not only relaxing, but also the kind of free-form music that implies creativity and the introduction of new ideas.

So the next time you’re giving that Power Point presentation or sales meeting, try implementing a touch of “jazz” (and that’s half-figurative) into the background.  You never know what the response might be.

As for the poetry aspect, that, too, can be an attention-getter, if you manage to integrate it into your overall concept.

I plan on expanding on this idea, so expect to hear more…stay tuned (literally).

P.S. Partial credit goes to Tim Ferriss, author of Experiments in Lifestyle Design, for the concept of this entry. Thanks, Tim!

About gcsscommunity

My name is Eric Pudalov, and I work as Community Events Coordinator with Georgia Community Support and Solutions, whose mission is to provide creative, life-enriching solutions to people with developmental disabilities and their families. I became interested in this field, however, due to having a disability myself; namely, I had brain surgery in 1996 at age 14, to remove a benign tumor. Following this, I had many difficulties with short-term memory, loss of strength, confusion, and emotional control. Fortunately, at present, I've recovered much of what I'd lost. Despite some setbacks, I graduated high school with honors, and received an academic scholarship to Adelphi Univ., where I earned a BA in Communications. Since then, I've held a number of different jobs and internships, among them a TA position at Sylvan Learning Center, and work as a "Service Leader" with Hands on Atlanta. Since living in GA, I've also been involved with two programs (including GCSS) that serve people with disabilities. My experience has included sharing apartments with adults with autism and other disorders. Though my so-called "limitations" may differ from those of others in the program, these experiences have helped me to realize that people, overall, are capable of much more than we may at first perceive. Search Engine Submission - AddMe
This entry was posted in Advertising, Appearances, Arts, Blogging, Business, Disabilities, Hot Blogs, Networking, Nonprofit, Poetry, SEO, Technology and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

