Objection, Your Honor! Relevance? (A Reflection on the Blog and Social Media)

Cover of "Predictably Irrational: The Hid...

Cover via Amazon

Blogging Demotivator

by Eric Pudalov, Community Events Coordinator

As you can see by the picture above, there are some out there who are cynical about blogging in general.  While I’m not necessarily one of these people, I do see their point in some instances.

Recently, someone in our organization noted that a few of the blog entries I’d written seemed a bit “off topic.”  While the critique wasn’t highly specific, I thought that it may be referring to the fact that some of the blog entries revolved around business topics in general; and granted, this isn’t a “business advice” blog, per se.

So I’d like to clear something up…when I do write about business/marketing-related topics, it’s mainly for the purpose of networking, and learning ways to better market ourselves at Georgia Community Support and Solutions.  As I’ve said before, one of the ongoing challenges we’ve had is figuring out the best fundraisers, and best methods of advertising, that work for us as a whole.

Not long ago, we had tried using Google ads as a way to guide more people to our website; unfortunately, the cost of the ads ended up outweighing the number of visitors.

Our Twitter page, too, was of course designed to help get the word out about our organization and what we do, as well as to network with others.  Nonetheless, it’s been difficult to determine how many people, if any, have been directed to our website, and/or the blog, through Twitter.

On the other hand, I do feel that this blog, in general, has been a good marketing tool, even if we only get the occasional comment.  What I would like to have is more awareness that the blog exists, and the opportunity to reach out to more readers.

Faceless-Book

A friend of mine, with whom I interact on Facebook, recently remarked that several people had tried “friending” her for the sole purpose of promoting their business, which she found irritating.

While I agree that Facebook shouldn’t solely be a promotional tool, I also feel that it can be a great networking resource.

David Spinks, author of The Spinks Blog, makes a point in his entry “Social Media is for Fakers that, while reading the book Predictably Irrational by Dan Ariely, he realized the issue he had with “social media,” in general, is that businesses are trying to blur the line between professional relationships and friendships.

Thank you to Gini Dietrich of The Fight Against Destructive Spin for the suggested reading, by the way!

While I, as an individual, was a member of Facebook long before using it for business purposes, I still primarily think of it as a social site.  On occasion, I’ll make use of it to promote an article or blog entry, but as a whole, I try to draw the line between business and social interactions online.

Which brings me back to my original point: are there topics in this blog that I (representing Georgia Community Support and Solutions) should be covering more?  Should I write more about disability-related news?  Should I stay more local?  Feedback is welcome.

About gcsscommunity

My name is Eric Pudalov, and I work as Community Events Coordinator with Georgia Community Support and Solutions, whose mission is to provide creative, life-enriching solutions to people with developmental disabilities and their families. I became interested in this field, however, due to having a disability myself; namely, I had brain surgery in 1996 at age 14, to remove a benign tumor. Following this, I had many difficulties with short-term memory, loss of strength, confusion, and emotional control. Fortunately, at present, I've recovered much of what I'd lost. Despite some setbacks, I graduated high school with honors, and received an academic scholarship to Adelphi Univ., where I earned a BA in Communications. Since then, I've held a number of different jobs and internships, among them a TA position at Sylvan Learning Center, and work as a "Service Leader" with Hands on Atlanta. Since living in GA, I've also been involved with two programs (including GCSS) that serve people with disabilities. My experience has included sharing apartments with adults with autism and other disorders. Though my so-called "limitations" may differ from those of others in the program, these experiences have helped me to realize that people, overall, are capable of much more than we may at first perceive. Search Engine Submission - AddMe
This entry was posted in Appearances, Atlanta, Blogging, Business, Concepts, Criticisms, Despair, Disabilities, Facebook, Inc., Networking, Nonprofit, Our Employees, Professionalism and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

